Action Alert

Please contact your State Senator and State Representative.

This Is Not How Democracy Works!


The League of Women Voters of Milwaukee County is in strong opposition to the bills that may be voted on TODAY (Dec. 4, 2018) in an extraordinary session of the state legislature on the grounds that this process undermines the principles of our representative democracy.


These bills were released late last Friday, with little time for public scrutiny and input. This is not how a representative democracy is supposed to function. Yesterday's hearing of the Joint Finance Committee ran late into the evening and included much public testimony in opposition of the proposals.


Among the measures discussed are bills that:


- add a third election in spring 2020, a move that would cost taxpayers an estimated $7 million, and is opposed by the vast majority of WI Election Clerks because of the administrative difficulties of overlapping election calendars.


- lower voter turnout by reducing early voting times and crippling Governor-elect Evers' ability to relax strict voter ID requirements, measures that will result in costly litigation.


- strip Governor-elect Evers' authority over the Wisconsin Economic Development Corp., a measure opposed by eight former members of the WEDC, including two appointed by Gov. Walker.


- limit the powers of the recently elected governor and attorney general, while granting additional authority to state legislators, which undermines the balance of powers among the three branches of government.


- allow the Legislature to use private attorneys paid with taxpayer dollars, rather than the state attorney general when state laws are challenged in court.


Please contact your State Representative and State Senator to express your views. To find their contact information, click here. In addition, please urge the governor and majority speakers to support the principles of our representative democracy:


Gov. Scott Walker:

(608) 266-1212,


Assembly Speaker Robin Vos:

(608) 266-9171,


Senate Majority Leader Scott Fitzgerald:

(608) 266-5660,